Department of Physics News Archive

Dr. Whitney

The Department of Physics would like to announce the retirement of long time professor and interim chair Dr. Donald Whitney. Dr. Whitney has served at Hampton University for 37 years! We would like to wish him good luck and happy adventures as he journeys into retirement!


The physics department now offers tutoring every Wednesday at 5:00pm to students taking lower level physics courses (PHY 201, 201, & 204). Tutoring will be held in room 128 of the Olin Engineering Building. For more information or to sign up, please stop by room 102 in the Olin Engineering Building.

The Department of Physics would like to welcome Dr. Lars Ewell. Dr. Ewell will be the new Director of the Medical Physics Program and an Assistant Professor.

The Department of Physics would like to announce the retirement of professor Dr. Bagher Tabibi. Dr. Tabibi has served on the Physics faculty here at HU for over 30 years! We would like to wish him good luck in all of his future endeavors and happy trails as he goes on to enjoy retirement after years of dedication to science. Thank you for your service Dr. Tabibi.

Congratulations to undergraduate student Thoth Gunter! Mr. Gunter was presented with the Hampton Chapter Academic Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement by the National Hampton Alumni Association, Inc. Congratulation Thoth on your academic achievement!

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Gueye! Dr. Gueye received the President’s Ambassador of Excellence Award for Extraordinary Efforts in grantsmanship and commitment to Hampton University. The award was given to him by President Harvey on April 16, 2013 at the University-Wide Faculty Meeting. Congratulations Dr. Gueye on this wonderful achievement!

Congratulations to undergraduate student Bilal Jones! Mr. Jones was awarded the 2012-2013 APS Scholarship for Minority Undergraduate Physics Majors by the American Physical Society (APS).

Congratulations to Physics Ph.D. student Mrs. Anusha L. Pushpakumari! Anusha’s paper titled “Measurement of the Proton Form Factor Ratio GEp/GMp from Double Spin Asymmetries” was submitted to the William & Mary Graduate Research Symposium 2013 and has been selected for a prize of Excellence in Scholarship. Congratulations on this excellent achievement!

Congratulations to Physics Ph.D. student Ms. Tammy Walton! Tammy has been invited to the University of Rochester as a presenter in the Charles Augustus Thompson Lecture Series. She will give a public lecture on Neutrino Physics and a seminar in the Physics Department there. We know she will represent Hampton University Physics Department well. Congratulation Ms. Walton on this opportunity!

Physics tutoring is now available to students needing help with courses PHY 201, PHY 202, PHY 203, and PHY 204.

Days and Times:

  • Monday (4:00pm – 6:00pm)
  • Tuesday (1:00pm – 5:00pm)
  • Wednesday (4:00pm – 6:00pm)
  • Thursday (3:30pm – 5:00pm)
  • * Also, Fridays and weekends are available upon request.

Please stop into the Olin Engineering Building, Room 102 to signup!

We welcome two new additions within our department, Ms. Monique Howard (Administrative Assistant for our Physics Department) and Ms. LeAnna Austin (Administrative Assistant for aCLASS).

An HU Physics student, Mr. Tetteh Addy, (PhD candidate on the ATLAS experiment at the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland) participated in the recent 2012 African School of Physics along with two former HU faculty: Dr. Keith Baker (Professor of Physics at Yale) and Dr. Ketevi Assamagan (Full time scientist at Brookhaven National Lab). A recent report from Fermilab also lists some collaborators from the HU QuarkNet program that is lead by Dr. Vassilious Vassilokopoulos : Simon Connell (who ran the Wits side of Physics Emasondosondo in Johannesburg) and Herman White (QuarkNet father-figure at Fermilab who is on the HU QuarkNet advisory board).


Dr. Michael Kohl has been elected as the new spokesperson for the OLYMPUS Experiment.


Dr. Jaetae Seo (PI),
Dr. Uwe Hommerich,
Dr. Pat McCormick, and
Dr. Bagher Tabibi (Co-PIs) were awarded $5M/5yrs for the Advanced Center for Laser Science and Spectroscopy Center at Hampton University from the NSF/CREST.